Overdue Reviews, Part 2: Wake Up Lucid – Sugar EP

This year I have begun trialling a way to keep more on top of things and get done the things that need doing (though at the same time I’ve also created a way of giving myself more to do, so it’s not quite working out quite as it perhaps should). This means that I’m here, doing some writing for this oft-neglected bjournal of mine. This should be the first of two overdue reviews I hope to have penned by the end of today and concerns the garage blues of L.A.-based Wake Up Lucid’s debut EP, Sugar.

The easiest comparisons, and your likeliest first thoughts upon hearing them, are with The White Stripes. This isn’t quite fair on Wake Up Lucid who, whilst playing a raw, gritty sort of rock ‘n’ roll blues, have as much to offer the genre as they have taken from it, but if the comparison were to be made, then you could say that if The White Stripes have dropped the torch, then Wake Up Lucid have picked it up and really run with it.

Their sound is rough, but with a seeming natural polish that comes from having forged a tight-knit music powerhouse. Indeed, Wake Up Lucid are a family ensemble, Ryan Baca leading on vocals and guitars with his cousins Ian Baca on bass and Jamie Baca on drums whose apparent closeness and inherent knowledge of each other’s musical direction lends itself to their art. All-in-all Sugar is a great little taster that will leave you hungry for more.

Wake Up Lucid are giving away the title track from their Sugar EP on their website (check the right-hand sidebar). Those in or around L.A. can see them free at their residency at Silverlake Lounge on Mondays through April.

Purchase: Amazon (UK | US)

2 Responses to Overdue Reviews, Part 2: Wake Up Lucid – Sugar EP

  1. hmm... says:

    I fail to understand why they keep on giving me assignments with the same title. I tend to ignore it, and seemingly to refuse to make anything that I can intelligently explain…
    I can’t remember who I am or what I stand for.
    I don’t like the word you used to describe your dog urinating. I much prefer the Madeleine cake method.
    You should reply to this comment with enthusiasm.

Leave a Reply

